Senior Triple Crown 2022 – Day 1

This morning saw Men’s and Ladies teams from the five competing federations (Ireland, Northern Ireland, England, Scotland & Wales) taking part in the official Opening Ceremony. Speeches were made by Sean Kennedy (Leisureplex) and Joe Ridgeway (ITBA) welcoming all to Dublin and wishing them all the best for both the tournament and their stay in Ireland. A Special mention was made in tribute to the late Frank Byrnes former team manager for the ITBA’s Senior Triple Crown team in 2019.

Following the Opening Ceremony, play commenced with the Ladies Singles competing over 6 games. Results were 1st Lorraine Keane (Ireland), 2nd Angie Brown (England) and 3rd Berni Moriarty (Ireland). Full results and point allocations can be found on the results and points tabs.

Play in the Men’s Singles followed with results of, 1st Colin Grose (England), 2nd Haulie Storan (Ireland) and 3rd Philip Watts (Ireland).

The last squad of the day was Ladies Doubles with results of, 1st Jan Hodge & Angie Brown (England), 2nd Dymphna Kestell & Theresa Watts (Ireland) and 3rd Berni Moriarty & Martina Shortt (Ireland).

Play recommences tomorrow morning with the Men’s Doubles.